Besties for Life

Hi guys! I know I’ve been MIA lately. I’ve been sickly in which my day job suffered dearly (swear didn’t mean for that to rhyme). I’m feeling a little better now and ready to hit the keys again. I was so excited last June since I had some back-to-school ideas I wanted to share and something about weddings since that’s also something June is popular for here in the Philippines. Obviously nothing came into fruition. Anyway, hopefully I can come up with better ideas for July. Its been raining hard for the past week and it almost completely sucked the bright and bubbly thoughts out of me. The only way I was able to keep my sanity was looking forward for better days. Glad I had some sunshine today.

One of the better days I had was when my bestfriends decided to pay me a visit recently. Well we were supposed to have a night out but decided to have a “night in” instead due to heavy rains. In my opinion it was time better spent since we were just chilling and chatting and watching movies and laughing (grammar Nazis will hate me for this) the whole night. I love my bestfriends. In lieu of BFFs, let me talk about the book Besties by Solenn Heussaff and Georgina Wilson. (What a way to introduce my topic, NOT! haha)


I’m not the type to jump on a bandwagon but I was intrigued by the premise it had. Two bestfriends sharing practical tips and tricks for the modern girl sounded cool to me. Besides, hype or not I wouldn’t let it stop the fangirl in me. I didn’t want to keep my expectations high but surprisingly it was an enjoyable read. It was light and had a conversational tone. A good pick me up when I’m feeling bored. I’d be honest it was a slow read for me (Did I just somehow contradict myself?). It wasn’t as if I was hungry to turn every page and excited about what the authors are gonna say next but that’s how I was able to fully enjoy the book. Consumed every chapter like a meal course and went back for seconds if I felt like it (Why am I alluding it to food? Hungry much).


My favorite parts are the chapters about confidence and beauty. It was a refreshing perspective to see two close-to-perfect beautes talk about their vulnerability just like everyone else’s which makes them even more beautiful in my opinion. Physically, I also liked the concept on how the material was presented from the photos down to the paper used. Chops to Solenn and Georgina for a job well done.

some of the meanest comments of other people

By no means is this a full blown review of the book and neither will I be regularly talking about books in my blog. I just thought that its a good read specially for girls like me who may look up to celebrities and think they lead such perfect lives forgetting that they’re just like us with their own insecurities and imperfections. I personally don’t go for this kind of book but I just thought that it taps on what I want to point out in this blog which is to be who you are and NOT be afraid of reaching for your dreams no matter how far-fetched other people may look at it. This book was a product of willful hearts determined to make a difference. It doesn’t hurt to add that I have a girl crush on these two (teehee).

Reading Besties made me miss my own bestfriends Joerissa and Hyra. I remember back in highschool even up to college we loved to chatter about our dreams, our physical appearances, our ideals and everything in between just like how Sos and George dabbled in a lot of topics in the book.

(L-R) Hyra, Joerissa and me

most recent photo together

Maybe this article is really just my selfish excuse to show the world how much I miss the old times with these two. Now that we’re older with jobs and boyfriends of course we spend less time together but it will never lessen the love we have for each other. We may not talk as much as we used to but when we do its as if we were together yesterday.Friends I know that I will keep for the rest of my life that I will always cherish no matter what. That’s what I love about having bestfriends.

What’s your favorite part about having a bestfriend/s?

Leave a Reply

