LAST HOORAH FOR SUMMER:SKIN CARE TIPS

I’ve made it apparent that summer does not equate to a vacay for me. I didn’t even make plans to go out of town and say #beachplease. This is my way of saying sorry if this topic may seem more appropriate last month now that we’re near the end of the season. Nevertheless better late than never as they say. Blame it on my crazy side that the closer we are to saying goodbye to summer I suddenly felt the pang of wanting to spend my days frolicking on the sand with good company. Oh well, I hope these tips will still be useful whether you head out to the beach or have your staycation galore for the rest of May.

These are my last minute tips in helping your skin stay in love with you after all the sunbathing you will do/did with it.

1. Arm your skin with sun protectants. I posted about sunblocks and why we need it. Simply put, you need to aid your skin from sun damage since zero sun exposure is close to impossible. You can’t make every conscious effort to hide from sunlight. Besides if you’re going to the beach then you don’t want it to be a reason not to have fun while under the sun.

2. Make sure that your skin is kept moisturized with whatever product you can tolerate. How you’re able to stand putting on lotion these days without being in an airconditioned room is beyond me. I just CAN’T. I try to hydrate myself from the inside instead. Drink it up. To reinforce moisture, I try to use soaps that will not get your skin completely stripped of its natural oils. I also tried using an in-shower moisturizer (Nivea) and so far it does help out with my dry skin. If my skin gets too thirsty then I do use creams but usually when I’m already in the office.

3. Exfoliate your skin to help it renew itself specially those areas that gets a lot of beating like our elbows and knees. I ran out of my go to body scrub and started to simply just use a bath glove. A good trick is do it with dry skin. Rub the glove in circular motion all over your body before you actually get it wet and you’ll do better in keeping dead skin cells at bay. I do this at least every other day.

4.Tan without the sun. If having that honey skin is a must have for you then please don’t do it the old fashioned way. I don’t personally like doing this because most tanning products are quite expensive but I’d rather empty my pockets for this than to burn my skin with baking it from excessive sun exposure. I have a friend of mine who would use Coke to give her that sun kissed glow by applying cola on her skin before briefly “cooking” it. I haven’t tried it but if you have please let me know how it worked out for you.

5. If the damage has been done and you’re already flaking off your burnt skin then I’m sorry you’re beyond help. Just kidding! But of course the extent of skin damage cannot be fully reversed. The best thing that we can do is to go easy on our skin and go back to basics (follow tips 1-3) and gradually your skin will go back pretty close to how it was. That’s how it happened for me anyway.

I hope you find these tips helpful even when you just want to maintain healthy looking skin. If you have tricks of your own please let me know because we all need a little help in this department.

Leave a Reply

